Feed the world… with 10 minutes and no money

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.  For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me” -Matthew 25: 34-36 NIV

As we all eat our breakfasts this morning, it is hard to imagine that one in seven people will go to bed hungry tonight. It is a sad and daunting reality, and a lot of the time, it seems like nothing will ever change, However, one less hungry child is still one less hungry child, and we can create that. Today, and everyday. For free.

The World Food Programme is the world’s largest hunger-fighting organization. Part of the reason it has become so large, in my opinion, is because they do such a great job at getting food to the people that really, really need it.

That’s awesome, but without a lot of money, how can we do anything about it? Well, that is where FreeRice.com comes in. Basically, this website will ask you (easy, nonpersonal, trivial) questions, and for every question you get right, ten grains of rice is given to a hungry person through the World Food Programme. After a lot of internet research, I have found out that this is definitely NOT a scam.  Changing the world for the better cannot get much easier than this. As an assistant teacher, I am also going to try and incorporate it into my lesson plans. This is a great teaching tool.

So, I am challenging myself, and you, to take ten minutes a day to answer questions from FreeRice.com. With ten minutes, you could cause 200 grains of rice to be given to a person that really needs it. These ten minutes could save a life.

Are you going to try it? Do you think ten minutes is enough? What do you think of the website?

Leave a Reply

