Where does grace come in?

This entire blog is centered on how any person, no matter where they live or who they are, can change the world. It also has the purpose of encouraging people to do something to change the world. The reason I started this blog is because I saw so many of my family and friends slip into apathy because they saw the problems of the world, but did not see a way they could do anything to change them. However, the reason that any of this matters to me is because of my belief that the Bible is the word of God and the Bible clearly tells us to help people poor and stand up for the rights of people who are oppressed (Isaiah 1:17).

So, that brings me to this post. I believe, like most Christians, that when Jesus died on the cross, he paid our debt. When we accept his grace, we are saved. However, I also believe that Christians need to follow God with their whole heart, including His call to help people who are poor or oppressed. This seems like a paradox because “it is finished”, except it’s not, since we still have work to do. So, here is how I see it. Jesus dying on the cross really did do it all. By His grace, we are saved, we are healed, and we are free. Once we choose to to accept His grace, nothing can undo that. However, when we have experienced God’s love so fully and we are so undeserving, we really have no choice but to follow him with our lives. Part of following him is living up to his call to help the poor and oppressed. We are healed, but we live in a broken world, so we need to keep working for His glory.

Anyways, I know that there are people that follow this blog that are not Christians, so I am not trying to alienate anyone. However, this is something I have struggled with for the past few months. So, it might help other people to wrestle through this seemingly-paradoxical element of our faith.

5 thoughts on “Where does grace come in?

  1. Hmmm, thought provoking.
    I clicked on you because you’d left a comment, & I liked the name of your gravatar – now I find that’s what your whole blog is about : changing the world & what each individual can do thereby. That’s a noble blog theme. I commend you for it.

    Have a beaut day 🙂

    Noeleen
    http://www.VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com

  2. There is a saying “I cannot change the world on my own” and we can’t. Your blog is very important for each of us to grow and mature the way God designed us, and also to work together so that we can change the saying to “All of us together will change the world – helping those around us” Blessings ~ Patty

Leave a Reply

