Three Things I Learned from Going “Hungry for a Day”

I participated in the Hungry for a Day program today. From the time I woke up this morning at 7 am until the sun went down, I did not eat anything. I did, however, drink tea and orange juice, to get some calories. I kind of multi-tasked, because my decision to do Hungry for a Day today began as a conversation with my roommate about how fasting can strengthen our relationship with God and take us to the next level of worshiping Him. I’ve been feeling led to fast for a while now, but haven’t done it until today. It was hard, but it was good. Whenever I felt hungry (which was a lot all the time), I was able to focus on God and how many people will not eat today, by no choice of their own. I learned a lot from the experience, here are just a few of the most significant things that I learned…

 

Lesson 1. A Little Goes a Long Way in the Fight Against Hunger

I estimated that what I would have eaten today would have been $5.00 worth of groceries, so that is what I donated to the World Food Programme. Those five dollars will give nutritious meals to twenty school children! That five dollars is so insignificant to me. On a day when I get coffee with friendsor eat food that I didn’t buy from Aldi’s (a super cheap grocery store), the money I consume each day is significantly more than that. Let me be clear, this does not tell me to eat less, but give more. Even as a “poor college student”, I could donate five dollars a month to the World Food Programme and ensure that twenty kids will eat food they otherwise would not have.

Lesson 2. God Doesn’t Ignore Our Pursuit of Him

In fact, He is always pursuing us. There is so much noise in my life that doesn’t need to be there. I would rather look to people than God so often, when really, He is all I need. That was made even more clear to me today, because I physically felt the lack of something, and God was there. He meets us where we are at. When we put forth the effort to seek Him through a fast or other of what I have heard called “spiritual disciplines”, He doesn’t ignore it. That being said, by no means does anyone need to fast in order to meet God.

Lesson 3. Don’t Run 5 Miles on a Day You Aren’t Going to Eat

Seriously, it is a bad idea. I was lethargic all day. When I wasn’t reflecting on God, hunger, and/or writing this blog, I sat on the couch wishing I wouldn’t have committed myself to this fast.

So, there it is. My experience of participating in Hungry for a Day, that I promised to write about in this post. All in all, I think that it was a learning and growth experience, and I am happy to have participated in some small way in all of our battle to change the world for the better.

If you have ever struggled with an eating disorder or severe body image issues , this is may not be a good way for you to change the world. This is not a weight loss technique, but a way to increase our personal conscience about hunger and poverty and donate money to a worthwhile cause

4 thoughts on “Three Things I Learned from Going “Hungry for a Day”

  1. I commend you for following through – although my health issues won’t allow me to fast from food, I know I can “fast” from other things in my life. Buying more fabric I don’t need, buying a snack or even going out for ice cream. Already I can see in my mind at least $10 (sometimes more) spent on things I do not need. My pet project is the Heifer Project, ( http://www.heifer.org/ourwork/our-work ) so I will be putting more into my Heifer fund to help feed families and communities. Thank you for doing your part. ~ Blessings, Patty

Leave a Reply

