Adopt.

“Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.” James 1:27

Today, I am going to write about what I can only assume is one of the most life-changing, powerful, amazing, heart-filling, and difficult ways to change the world: adoption. A couple of friends and I at church were talking yesterday about the many families in our church that have adopted. Specifically, many families have adopted or are in the process of adopting children from Ethiopia, the Ukraine, and Asia. Some of the children adopted have disabilities, others were orphaned, and all of them desperately needed love and safety. Words cannot describe the fullness of love I witness between these parents and their children.

God has really put adoption on my heart since I got back from Moldova, as something to do in the future, when I am married, mature, and, most importantly, not a poor college student. I think that it is a great way to live out God’s call to care for orphans, since you are actually caring for orphans in your own home, as your own children. That is because, when you adopt, they are no longer orphans, they are your own beautiful children. 

Therefore, I want to encourage you to pray about adoption. I understand that it is not the right thing for everyone. I also understand that adoption takes a large amount of time, resources, emotions, and that some families that try to adopt are turned away. However, if God is putting that flicker in your heart for these beautiful orphans, don’t ignore it. Do something about it, your kids may be waiting for you.

Here are some adoption blogs that I think might help you decide if adoption is right for your family:

Pratterbox

Always and Forever

The Heart of the Matter

6 thoughts on “Adopt.

  1. Adoption is a remarkable but difficult process. I have two younger sisters who used to be cousins. After about six years, I sometimes forget that they weren’t always around, and that we are biologically cousins.
    It’s tricky sometimes, with the remaining scars from emotional abuse and neglect, but overall, they are two happy, optimistic, well-adjusted people. I know my life is better because they are in it.

  2. I agree that adoption is incredible! Even if you can’t adopt a child, but can only adopt a pet….giving a good home to any living creature is an amazing thing!

    Cheers,
    Courtney Hosny

Leave a Reply

