A Day to Serve

Most schools and many workplaces in the U.S. will be closed on Monday in observance of the Martin Luther King Jr. National Holiday. As I was preparing for the three day weekend, I was, similar to many people, excited for an extra day to relax. However, then I was reminded that MLK day is also known as the National Day of Service. Martin Luther King Jr. devoted his entire life to service and peaceful opposition to injustice. Therefore, if we truly have this holiday to honor him and the amazing impact he made on our nation, then we should serve! So, I am rethinking my weekend to attend my university’s service projects. I want to encourage you to do the same! If you need help figuring out what to do, feel free to browse my posts categorized under “volunteer opportunities”. Also, check online to see if your city is hosting anything for this day. For example, Hands on Atlanta is engaging my city in service projects ranging from a march down historic Auburn Ave. to poverty alleviation.

Have a great day of service!

Leave a Reply

