The Under-Appreciated Value of Kindness

This blog is about how ordinary people can change the world. So, I normally post things like ways to volunteer, or how we should serve. But, from what I have observed, we can change someone’s world through our interactions with other people. I am definitely lacking in this respect. Don’t get me wrong, I love my friends and family and they love me. However, there are definite times when I am simply not nice to them. This unkindness may be loosely veiled under a joke or sarcasm, which are not wrong in and of themselves, but can quickly become biting if not kept in check. So, this post is as much for me as it is for anyone else.

Have you ever had an experience at a restaurant or store where someone was just incredibly kind to you? I was at the grocery store recently and the bag person took customer service to a brand new level. Not only that, but the huge, seemingly genuine smile on his face proved that he was happy to do it. He literally made my day. I wasn’t even having a bad day- I didn’t need cheering up- but he cheered me up just the same. This got me thinking about how little I invest in an attitude that will make someone else’s day. Kindness goes a long way.

Not to mention, it is a fruit of the spirit in the Bible. So that’s something.

Therefore, I decided to make a little list for myself about specific ways that I can be kind, and share it with you all so that hopefully you will be inspired to do the same. Since I am home for the summer, mine look a little different than they would when I am living independently, but you get the idea.

  1. Smile at every person I pass, including if it is a family member in my own home.
  2. Make a point to deescalate conflicts, rather than build them up.
  3. Sincerely compliment three people every day.
  4. Sacrifice my comfort to give someone else what they want.
  5. Wait to make dinner until I know my family is ready to eat.

These are just a few things that I am trying to implement to become more kind.

What could you do to develop kindness in yourself?

2 thoughts on “The Under-Appreciated Value of Kindness

  1. I think by cultivating more patience I can become kinder. I am very kind to those in customer service fields, such as food service and retail, mostly because I’ve been in their shoes and those jobs are hard enough without having to deal with rude customers. Like you however I have a tendency to snap at those closest to me.

Leave a Reply

