Book Review: Gandhi’s Autobiography

I think you put out into the world what you choose to put into yourself. For example, regardless of what other people do, if you feed hate and bitterness to yourself, that is what you are going to put out. Similarly, if you fill yourself with truth from people who are wise and world-changing, it will lead you to become more wise and world-changing. That principle is why it is good to one, surround yourself with the right people, and two, surround yourself with the right thoughts that will help to create change in you and your world. An easy way to do this is to read books by people who have changed the world in a tangible way. A great one that I just recently read is An Autobiography: The Story of My Experiments with Truth, by Mohandas Gandhi.

While his writing is surprisingly not the most captivating thing in the world, what I love about this book is his humility and honesty in relating events that we know now changed the course of an entire nation, and many others through his advocacy of nonviolent resistance. Additionally, in the midst of random stories about his family or friends, he would write something so profound I had to go back and read it a few times to let it soak in. For example, hidden in the pages of his book, Gandhi wrote. “no reform is possible unless some of the educated and the rich voluntarily accept the status of the poor… and instead of taking  avoidable hardships, discourtesies, and injustice as a matter of course, fight for their removal”. I mean, really! That is world-shaking. And the book is filled with wisdom like that.

Something that inspired me from his book that I want to talk about here is how he was 100% committed to his cause. Gandhi fought for change and sought after truth and morality to the point of recklessness. His beliefs about a moral diet impeded his health, his ability to be fearless in the face of martial law seriously injured him on multiple occasions, but he didn’t care because his ideals were above anything physical or tangible, and because of that, they were worth risking everything for. That is why I believe he facilitated the change that he did. I want to get to that point, where my moral and religious ideals are a greater reality to me than my present circumstance. That is a characteristic we see in not only Gandhi, but in every major world-changer that I can think of (Jesus, MLK, Mother Teresa…).

Hopefully, by surrounding ourselves with thoughts from people like that, we can become closer to that mindset.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Gandhi’s Autobiography

  1. Inspiring post. Thank you . I loved the Gandhi quote and am going to use it in my post today. Namaste. . . .Anne talesalongtheway.com ( my adventures in India)

Leave a Reply

