Africa ELI: Bridging Gender Gaps through Education

This is the last in my series of posts highlighting a cause or nonprofit that one of my residents loves (I’m an RA in a freshmen dorm). This one I had never heard of before- which is rare since so many charities have a huge online presence and do a lot of marketing. However, looking at the website, they do amazing things! Most of this post is going to be taken straight from their website since, as I said, I don’t have a personal experience with this charity (and, let’s be real, I have a lot of homework).

I strongly believe that empowering women is one major way to end poverty- Africa ELI is doing just that in Southern Sudan, a region that has been broken by genocide and poverty but that has amazing people and stories of redemption. They work to bridge gender gaps through education.

“Africa Education & Leadership Initiative (ELI) builds gender equity, improved economic conditions, peaceful development, and strengthened leadership capacity in South Sudan by advancing women’s education through academic sponsorships, partnerships, enrollment-retention programs, and life-skills development.”

They work to achieve

  • Increased access to education for girls and young women
  • Improved quality education and learning environment
  • Higher student-retention rates and reduced at-risk behaviors
  • Enhanced skills for leadership and careers
  • Improved English-language comprehension and verbal competence

Pretty amazing. So, check out their site and see how you can get involved. Their projects (specifically Girls Rising Sudan) are really awesome, and I am so happy that my resident brought this group to my attention.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Africa ELI: Bridging Gender Gaps through Education

  1. Hey! This is Anita with Africa ELI. Thanks for the shout-out! And pass along my appreciation to the student who informed you about our work in South Sudan. I routinely post to the Africa ELI Facebook page. Head on over there and click “like” to stay informed about our fantastic students brimming with potential – and for other educational tidbits along the way. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

