Love Does

lovedoesquoteIt’s been a couple of weeks since the last post. The past two weeks have been a whirlwind- I graduated from college, started two new jobs, and moved out of my dorm room.

However, I also read a book recently that completely rocked my world, and that is what I want to share with you all this week. Love Does, by Bob Goff, illustrates how simply acting out a relationship with love, not an agenda, can radically change the world. This is something that I personally struggle with. Obviously, I love the people in my life just like anyone else. However, I rarely act out this love without an agenda of some kind. Yet, that is what Jesus did for us: acted out his love for us because he loved us, not because he had love doessomething to gain from the expression of love.

Relationships, by their very nature, are mutual and reciprocal. When I expect that reciprocity, however, the love that I express in a relationship becomes about what I feel instead of how I am making the other person feel. To change the world, therefore, we should love others with abandon. Loving not how we feel when we express love, but loving the person to whom we are expressing love.

I highly recommend this book to anyone. If even 5% of the planet loved like this book is saying- the world would be a radically different place. It takes love beyond an idea and puts it into action.

Disclaimer: I am writing this post from a night shift and not a lot of sleep. I apologize in advance for it’s lack of quality.

Leave a Reply

