Make Room

emptyroomThis week’s suggestion of how to change the world is to create space and make room for loving, therefore serving, people well in the midst of our busy schedules. This is something that a lot of people I love are amazing at doing… and something that I personally am terrible at doing. Do you remember the parable of the good Samaritan? The best analogy to me in that story would be the priest that walks by the injured man, with some exceptions. I would’ve walked past the injured man because I can’t be late to my oh-so-important scheduled occurrence, but I still would’ve felt for him and probably scheduled a time later to come and help him and pay for him to have the best possible care. But… that wouldn’t have been much use to him, would it?

That’s a problem. We I get so caught up in schedules and business in our efforts to make the world a better place, that we I neglect to make room for the people that God puts in my path without an appointment. Being busy, especially with things that help other people, is not a bad thing. However, having a posture that prioritizes schedules over people is tragic.

Therefore, I am issuing a challenge to myself and all of you to make room in our lives for unexpected, unscheduled, and inconvenient opportunities to love and serve people around us, even when we don’t feel like it.

My friend and coworker showed me an amazing example of this by spending 15 minutes talking to a sweet but bored child waiting for their dad to pick them up. She was  being the body of Jesus to that child, and my prayer is that I, like her, would see people and meet them where they’re at, instead of necessarily expecting them to meet me where my time permits.

Have a beautiful weekend! Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for reading and following this blog!

T

Leave a Reply

