What’s in a Shoebox?

shoeboxI’ve written about Operation Christmas Child before, and I am sure that many of you are familiar with it. However, just to recap: it is a ministry of Samaritan’s Purse that delivers gift-filled shoeboxes to share God’s love with children around the world in a tangible way. I love it for many reasons, not least of all being that it is usually the first Christmas shopping of the year. This year, I read something that stopped me in my tracks and caused me to be WAY more intentional and thoughtful about the way that I pack my boxes. It is a blog post written by a missionary named Katie Garret in Senagal. She helps facilitate the receiving end of the boxes we send each year. So, this week’s suggestion of how to change the world is not only to participate in Operation Christmas Child and pack a shoebox, but to do it after reading Katie’s Unsolicited Advice About Shoeboxes

Please, please read it! I would have copied and pasted almost all of it just to make it more likely you would, but I want you to get to see her site and what they’re doing there.

And, because Operation Christmas Child for me represents the beginning of the holiday season… I hope you all enjoy some fair trade hot cocoa (now 10% off) and warm fires this weekend.

elf

Leave a Reply

