Transgender Rights

Happy Friday! I hope you all have a fun weekend ahead. This blog discusses the many ways ordinary people can change the world and provides some inspiration and resources to help people do that. But I also use it at times to call attention to the ways that the world needs changing. This is one of those times. The Human Rights Campaign reports that one in five transgender individuals has felt employment discrimination. Additionally, people who are transgender experience higher prevalence of violence against them. Obviously, this is wrong. But what can we do?

As a Christian, I have found transgender issues to be difficult to think about. It is clear to me that people who are transgender definitely identify strongly with a gender different than their biological sex. It is also clear to me that God is sovereign and does not make mistakes. So, what is he doing? Do transgender people have to suffer because of our broken world? What is God trying to teach the church through this? What does our response so far tell the world about God? I don’t know.

Here is what I do know. Every single transman and transwoman was created by God for a purpose and he is completely, head-over-heals in love with them. I never want to make someone feel otherwise. I am praying for wisdom for the church on how to love people who are transgendered. Please join me in that prayer. If you know of any resources that can help promote equity for people who are trans, please post them in the comments.

This post is motivated by a research project I am assisting a professor of mine complete. If you would like more information on his research, feel free to shoot me a message.

Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

