Lifetime Learning

Happy Friday!

adult-education-homeOver the past two weeks, I have had the opportunity to partake in several seminars and short trainings on topics ranging from social enterprise to diversity in the nonprofit sector. I would do a recap of them so that you could benefit as I did. However, if there’s one thing I realize after learning so much is that I definitely don’t know enough to adequately describe what I learned. It will help me serve the population I work with, and those around me, in a better way. Which brings me to this week’s suggestion of how to change the world: keep learning! No matter what, we must prioritize constant training and reassessment of ourselves in order to serve better. Even if we identify with the population with whom we work, that can give us biases in how we approach a situation. Luckily, there are several ways to learn to be better change makers. For one, we can read books and watch documentaries. But what I am talking about here is structured training. Here are some resources to help us change the world:training-elearning

  1. The Foundation Center and it’s several affiliates offer nonprofits and volunteers in person and online training that will help them be efficient in this ever-changing funding circumstance
  2. State Universities and Community Colleges offer many seminars and panel discussions on a variety of topics within nonprofits and community service. Try to call them and attend even if it does not seem immediately relevant to you, as it may surprise you.
  3. Seek out cultural competence training. This is something I lack, but I am working on. If the group you’re volunteering with is primarily one of a different ethnicity than you, ask for help in understanding that culture so that you can be sensitive and helpful, not overbearing.

I have personally benefited from finally making the choice to seek out some development opportunities, and I hope you will too!

Leave a Reply

