Who are your goals benefiting?

It has surely been an interesting year. The business of the holiday season led me to take some time off of the blog for a couple of weeks, but I hope you have had a wonderful time with family!

This week’s suggestion of how to change the world relates to the New Year’s Resolutions we all make. I have some, you have some, they exist. But, I am being challenged in that my two resolutions are about the person I think most about: me. That does not set the tone for a year of living a life that makes the world a better place. So, I would like you to join me in creating one resolution that is about others.

Don’t get me wrong, self-improvement and goals are important. Not to mention, they cansmart make the world better just by making a better person who lives in it. However, the culture of only focusing on what I want in 2017 is not really in the mindset of Christ, who died for all. So, I am making a last minute goal to do something that will improve the world around me. It can be anything, from beginning to volunteer or just being a better friend. Whatever it is though, the important thing is to take the steps to put it into practice.

If you attended a public school in the last ten years, you’re probably familiar with the concept of SMART goals. With that in mind, I will use the SMART goal format for my resolution. I am sharing it with you all in hopes that it will 1) inspire you to make an others-focused resolution and 2) writing it out will make me do it. Here you go:

I will listen to people more by asking questions to follow up on what someone tells me that I would want to be asked. I will thoughtfully put this in practice at least once per week until December 31, 2017.

Obviously, that’s not a difficult goal nor is it extremely helpful. But, this whole blog is about how world change happens through a lot of people. Good luck with your world-changing resolutions!

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Who are your goals benefiting?

  1. Good take on the whole resolution thing… I will think hard and put this in practice for my situation which has lately been too much about me me me. One nit picky thing: you said “put this in practice at least once per week until December 31, 2016” but I believe you meant to say 2017 – it is a new year after all 🙂

Leave a Reply

