Pick your battles, but still pick a battle

migrant_refugee_illegal_person_protest_takver_flickrI’m going to be completely honest with you. This week, I stopped paying attention. After making the phone calls in support of refugees which I encouraged you all to make in last week’s post, I stopped watching the news. This is good, and healthy. I am a naturally anxious person so if I don’t purge myself of CNN or NPR every once and a while, I turn into a useless ball of anxiety. The problem is, I don’t want to go back. I don’t want to know about the latest law-breaking or racist action. You may say, that’s self-care, that’s Ok! But no. It’s not Ok, because I have the privilege to shut it off.

I am a white Christian citizen, so I don’t need to worry that I could be deported and have my life swept out from underneath me like a rug. I am a white Christian citezen, so I don’t need to wonder if I will ever see my family again. I am a white Christian citizen, so I am not afraid of having my right of religious expression and modesty taken away from me. I am a white Christian citizen, so if one of my brothers gets pulled over, I am fairly confident that they will drive off with a ticket instead of a gun wound. (All contain links to news articles that are examples of what I am referring to.)

My point is, it is wrong for me to go into my own world and not engage in political action because it is so easy to do so. In Germany, as the Holocaust was occuring, there were many entirely normal, good Christians who disagreed with what was happening. But they didn’t disagree enough to inconvenience or endanger their own livlihoods. I will learn from that, and stand up for the rights of the poor and powerless. I will engage, even when it is hard, and even when I am tired. Because I know that God is the source of strength and he is always bent toward justice.

All of that to say, I am sure I am not the only one. Yes, take care of yourself and still oick your battles carefully. But please do pick a battle. The world cannot afford for you not to.

Leave a Reply

