Trail Magic

167449_4091304483634_1892059975_n

My first section hike, when I learned about Trail Magic

Happy 1st day of May! Being May 1st, I hope that you are experiencing beautiful Spring weather wherever you are. If you’re anything like me, the beautiful weather is making you want to go outside and enjoy nature. If you’re exactly like me, it’s making you go hiking this weekend… which brings me to this week’s suggestion of how you can change the world (or maybe just make someone’s day).

On the Appalachian Trail, there are a number of thru-hikers (people that backpack all 2,000+ miles of the trail in one go), and section hikers (people, like me, that will backpack for certain segments of the trail). Also, there are people who are not currently doing these things but like to help people out. Through my mom, a 2012 thru-hiker, I found out that these people are called “trail angels”, and the random acts of kindness that they do are called “trail magic”. The AT isn’t the only long trail that trail magic occurs on. So, this week’s suggestion of how to change the world is to provide trail magic at a long-term hiking trail near you (there are several around the country). I am doing this in the form of PB&Js for thru-hikers on the AT. However, you might be bringing hand warmers to hikers on the Colorado Trail, or maybe some snickers bars to people hiking the PCT. Or, you may just want to pick up trash along a hiking trail so that hikers can enjoy the serenity of nature.

You may not think that “trail magic” can really make a difference. However, when I did my first section hike of the Appalachian Traill, it was literally the highlight of my trip… so now I am paying it forward, and inviting you all to do the same

Leave a Reply

