Cellphone Charity

fairphoneSince last week’s post about donating used cellphones, I have been realizing that there are a lot of ways that our society’s constant use of cellphones can be used for social justice, not just convenience. So, I thought I would highlight three of those ways we can use our phones for good in this week’s suggestion of how you can change the world.

1. Credo Mobile

Credo Mobile is a successful phone company, like AT&T, Sprint, or Verizon. However, their business is designed to help create positive social change. Credo facilitates the sending of millions of emails, petitions, and phone calls to fight for progressive legislation. Additionally, a portion of what they make is donated to charities focusing on women’s rights, the environment, equality, peace and social justice. The best part? Their customers help pick the organizations that the money goes toward! So, if you are looking to switch phone companies (or even if you weren’t before you read this), consider switching to Credo Mobile and let your phone bill payments be used for good!

2. Text to Give

Countless organizations have text to give options that make it really easy to donate to immediate issues like disaster relief. While it is important to not donate on a whim and research where the money is going, I think this is a great new way for donors and organizations to connect in a mutually convenient and beneficial way. I have not used this option because I am lucky enough that my parents currently pay my phone bill. However, I have seen great organizations such as the American Red Cross, Malaria Bites: Bite Back, and my church, Passion City Church, use this in order to facilitate individual giving.

3. Fairphone (the world’s first fair trade smartphone)

I am seriously excited about this. For a long time, I have known that cellphones contain minerals mined in conflict zones where slavery, or at the very least questionable labor practices, are being used. Additionally, I have heard rumors that the iPhone (my current cellphone brand) is produced in sweatshop-like factories. Fairphone checks its supply chains so you can purchase it with the confidence that the production of the phone is helping, rather than hurting, the laborers that make it. Not to mention, it is a very nice phone. Here are the specs from their website:

  • Dragontrail glass: Ultra thin and light; super durable and scratch-resistant
  • Mediatek 6589 chipset: Quad-core CPU for faster processing and page loading
  • 16 GB internal memory: For music, movies, apps, games and more
  • qHD display: 4.3 inches of touch-screen goodness
  • Dual front & rear camera: 8 MP + 1.3 MP for photos and video calls
  • Android OS (4.2 Jelly Bean): Special interface developed by Kwame Corporation (Also open!)

So, consider implementing one of these ways to further social justice just by using your cellphone! Have a wonderful weekend!

P.S. Sunday is my birthday, please consider donating to my birthday project to purchase a smart board for Wellspring Living, an amazing organization helping young women that have been trafficked in Atlanta.

 

Leave a comment